Listen to the Unpopular Music webcast on, Saturdays 12 noon -2pm
Listen to archived episodes at

Saturday, June 11, 2016

Playlist for the Unpopular Music webcast for June 11, 2016

Today's arbitrarily selected program. It's like the old saying about New England weather, "if you don't like it, it'll be different in five minutes." I'd give this show seven to ten.

See for yourself after the break...

artist song album comment label / date
Katie Lee Real Sick Sounds Songs of Couch and Consultation 1st part of theme Commentary Records
Naked City Inside Straight Naked City 2nd part of theme Nonesuch
Gil Evans Lester Leaps In New Bottle, Old Wine Gil Evans (p, arr., cnd) Johnny Coles, Louis Mucci, Ernie Royal (trp) Joe Bennet, Frank Rehak, Tom Mitchell (tbn) Julius Watkins (hrn) Harvey Philips (tba) Cannonball Adderley (as) Jerry Sanfino (reeds) Chuck Wayne (gtr) Paul Chambers (b) Art Blakey (d) Pacific Jazz
John Tchicai's Five Points Venus One Long Minute John Tchicai (b clt), Alex Weiss (as), Garrison Fewell (g), Dmitry Ishenko (b), Ches Smith (d) No Bop Records
Julius Hemphill C Raw Materials and Residuals Julius Hemphill (as) Abdul Wadud (vc) Famoudou Don Moye (d) Black Saint
Manu Dibango Biso Manu Dibango (aka Collection Blanche) music behind DJ Disques Festive
Ensemble Dal Niente / Deerhoof meltDown Upshot - 4. True/False Balter/Saunier Music by Marcos Balter New Amsterdam
Gnostic Trio Child's Play The Mockingbird Bill Frisell (g) Kenny Wollesen (vbs, chm) Carol Emanual (hrp)
music by John Zorn
Pritsker/Jarvis Duo Unrecyclable Pritsker/Jarvis Duo Gene Pritsker (g) Peter Jarvis (d) Daniel Palkowski (k) Dan Cooper (b)
composition by Jessica Wells
Composers Concordance
Ornette Coleman and Prime Time Biosphere In All Languages Ornette Coleman (as) Charlie Ellerbie, Bern Nix (g), Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Al McDowell (b) Denardo Coleman, Calvin Weston (d) Caravan of Dreams
Juana Molina Vive Solo Un Día
Spaceheads Trip To The Moon Trip To The Moon EP music behind DJ Electric Brass
Say Hi Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh Oohs & Aahs written and recorded entirely by Eric Elbogen Barsuk Records
Yo La Tengo Georgia vs. Yo La Tengo Summer Sun music behind DJ Matador
Neu! Hallogallo Neu! Klaus Dinger (d) Michael Rother (g, b) Astralwerks
Carlo Savino In Viaggio Per Un Bidone Il Bidone music by Nino Rota for the film by Federico Fellini CAM
Tim Berne Simple City Snakeoil Tim Berne (as) Oscar Noriega (clt) Matt Mitchell (p) Ches Smith (d, prc) ECM
Ran Blake / Jon Hazilla I say a little prayer Kaleidoscope Ran Blake (p) Jon Hazilla (d) CIMP/City Hall
David Raksin Force of Evil - End Title Murder is My Beat (Classic Film Noir Themes and Scenes) music for the film by Abraham Polonsky Rhino Movie Music
Kristjan Järvi / Absolute Ensemble Architectonic IV - "Per Cadenza ad Metasimplicity" Architectonics music by Erkki-Sven Tüür
Tim Reudeman (bs) Martin Kuuskman (bsn) Matt Herskovitz (p, syn) Vesselin Gellev (vln)
Henry Cow Bittern Storm Over Ulm Unrest Tim Hodgkinson (org, p, as, clt) Fred Frith (g, vln, prc, p, composer) John Greaves (b, p) Chris Cutler (d) Lindsay Cooper (bsn, obe, rcdr) East Side Digital 1974
Walter Carlos What's new, pussycat? By Request Burt Bacharach / Hal David, arr. Walter Carlos Columbia
Herbie Hancock Earth Beat Future Shock music behind DJ Columbia
Jack DeJohnette's Special Edition PM's AM Audio-Visualscapes Jack DeJohnette (d, syn) Mick Goodrick (g) Greg Osby (as) Lonnie Plaxico (b) Gary Thomas (ts) Impulse!

No comments:

Post a Comment