Listen to the Unpopular Music webcast on, Saturdays 12 noon -2pm
Listen to archived episodes at

Saturday, July 30, 2016

Playlist for the Unpopular Music webcast for July 30, 2016

A program following the seemingly now standard jazzy first hour, other second hour.

See the playlist after the break...

artist song album comment label / date
Katie Lee Real Sick Sounds Songs of Couch and Consultation 1st part of theme Commentary Records
Naked City Inside Straight Naked City 2nd part of theme Nonesuch
Bob Moses Trevor / Piccolo and Lulu
When Elephants Dream of Music

Rahboat Bob Moses (d, voc) Michael Formanek (b) David Gross (as) Howard Johnson (b clt, tba) Steve Swallow (b) Bill Frisell (g) Ayib Deing, Joe Bonadio, Naná Vasconcelos (prc) Lyle Mays (syn) Jim Pepper (ts) Doc Halliday (ts, ss) Terumassa Hiro (crnt) Barry Rogers (tbn) Chris Rogers (trp) David Friedman (vbs, mrb) Gramavision
Garrison Fewell / Tino Tracanna Grappa To Go Big Chief Dreaming Garrison Fewell (g) Tino Tracanna (ss) Soul Note
Don Pullen Calypso in Roma Jazz A Confronto 21 Don Pullen (p) George Adams (flt, prc) David Williams (b, prc) Dannie Richmond (d) Horo
Lisa Germano Phantom Love Geek The Girl music behind DJ
Don Byron Blue Bubbles Bug Music Don Byron (clt) Uri Caine (p)
Booker Ervin No Man's Land (long take) Exultation! Booker Ervin (ts) Frank Strozier (as) Horace Parlan (p) Butch Warren (b) Walter Perkins (d, tune)
The Dirty Dozen Brass Band Black Drawers / Blue Piccolo Voodoo
Gregory Davis (trp, voc) Efrem Towns (trp) Kevin Harrin (ts, prc) Roger Lewis (bs, ss, prc) Charles Joseph (tbn) Kirk Joseph (tba) Jenell Marshall (snr d) Lionel Batiste (bs drm)
written by Jimmy Chetham and Jeannie Chetham / S. Johnson arr. The Dirty Dozen
Joe Henderson Black Mode for Joe Joe Henderson (ts) Lee Morgan (trp) Curtis Fuller (tbn) Bobby Hutcherson (vbp) Cedar Walton (p, tune) Ron Carter (b) Joe Chambers (d)
Blue Note
Spaceheads Trip to the Moon Trip to the Moon EP music behind DJ
Electric Brass
Gong Linna Wu Hun Marathon '15 Mixtape music by Lao Luo (aka Robert Zollitsch) Cantelouope
Asiko Rock Group Lagos City Asiko Rock Group music behind DJ
EMI Nigeria
Henry Threadgill / Very Very Circus Paper Toilet Too Much Sugar for a Dime Henry Threadgill (as) Mark Taylor (hrn) Brandon Ross, Masujaa (g) Edwin Rodriguez, Marcus Rojas (tba) Gene Lake (d) Axiom
Moondog w/ the London Saxophonic Present for the Prez Sax Pax for a Sax Andrew Scott (ts solo) Tim Redpath (ss) Rob Buckland, Simon Haram (as) Gareth Brady (ts) Will Gregory (bss sax) Liam Noble, Jon Rebbeck (p) Louis Hardin (Moondog) (bss drm) Danny Thompson (b)
Roof Music / Zebralution
Martin Denny Bali Ha'i The Best of Martin Denny song by Richard Rodgers / Oscar Hammerstein II
hear Flash Strap's three hour Martin Denny program here
Ensemble Modern Und ich werde nicht mehr sehen Eislermaterial Josef Bierbichler (voc) Dietmar Wiesner (flt) Catherine Milliken (obe) Roland Diry (clt) Wolfgang Stryl (b clt, sax) Noriko Shimada (bsn) Frank Ollu (hrn) William Forman (trp) Uwe Dierksen (tbn) Rainer Römer (prc) Hermann Kretzschmar, Ueli Wiget (keys) Jagdish
Mistry (vl) Geneviève Strosser (va) Michael M. Kasper (vc) Thomas Fitcher (b)
music by Heiner Goebbels after Hanns Eisler, text by Bertolt Brecht
Trio Mediaeval; Bang on a Can All-Stars Steel Hammer - 3. Destiny Steel Hammer Trio Medaeval (Anna Maria Friman, Linn Andrea Fuglseth, Torunn Østrem Ossum) (voc) All-Stars: Evan Ziporyn (clt) Ashley Bathgate (vc) Mark Stewart (g) Vicky Chow (p) Robert Black (b) David Cossin (prc)
music by Julia Wolfe
Leonard Bernstein Meditation I Mass - A theater piece for singers, players and dancers music by Leonard Bernstein Columbia
The Mothers of Invention Trouble Every Day Freak Out! Frank Zappa (g, voc) Ray Collins (voc, hrm, prc)
Jimmy Carl Black (d, voc) Roy Estrada (b) Elliot Ingber (g)
Gelbart The message Preemptive musical offerings to satisfy our future masters all music and instruments by Adi Gelbart Gagarin Records
Steve Vai Little Green Men Flex-able Steve Vai (g, voc, b, syn, drm mchn) Paul Lemcke, Scott Collard (keys) Bob Harris (trp) Stuart Hamm, Irney Rantin, Ursula Rayven (voc) Larry Crane (prc) Akashic Records
Manu Dibango Lakisane Manu Dibango (aka Collection Blanche) music behind DJ Disque Festive
Thomas Dolby Flying North Blinded by Science Thomas Dolby (voc, syn) David Birch (g) Justin Hildreth (d) Bruce Wooley (voc) Harvest

No comments:

Post a Comment